processi

about processes and engines

maintenance branch

I already posted about the move from OpenWFE 1.6.x to 1.7.x. I had to branch, so now we have a ‘maintenance branch’. I’ll upload a 1.6.3pre4 maintenance release soon.

As I was very busy on some (paying / for food) software project, I was unable to post, no inspiration. But no lack of ideas, I’d love to write about ‘process composition’ very soon.

There were also some posts on bpm 2.0 that caught my attention. The first one about the ‘complete bpms’ is really interesting, but that left me wondering : isn’t such an integrated ‘bpms’ a constraining environment in the end ? Catching the focus of its users. Access for bpm ?

It’s just the questions I have in mind.
Wouldn’t Excel for bpm be better than Access for bpm ? Isn’t the process engine supposed to be driving/orchestrating/choreographing everything at some high abstraction level ?

I should just stop randomly asking questions at one point… And come up with a solution (though not a ‘one size fits all’).

So now we have an OpenWFE 1.6.x maintenance branch.

Written by John Mettraux

March 27, 2006 at 11:08 pm

Posted in bpm, openwfe, workflow

