processi

about processes and engines

VMware

No, not “Boot Camp“, but “VMware” related post. I’m Linux based, my T43 runs a testing Debian GNU/Linux, I don’t have any fancy macbookpro yet.

As my {spare|old} laptop died, I was left without windows workstation. I need to have such a platform, lots of people trying out OpenWFE do it on their windows workstation first, I always have to ensure OpenWFE runs out of the box on that OS (at least its XP flavour).

Had to install VMware on my T43, the install ran smoothly, just had to apt-get install linux-headers-2.6.15-1-686 for the installer to tune itself for my 2.6.x kernel.
Next step : installing Visual Studio to go on with the maintenance [and the development] of OpenWFE-dotnet.

This VMware makes it very cozy, I have an embedded Windows workstation now, I can freeze an image of it for OpenWFE on windows testing and one for OpenWFE-dotnet maintenance (with Visual Studio already open).

Speaking of VMware, I’ll have to find the time to load OpenWFE into one of their ‘playable images’, it’s a very interesting concept they have : people can download one of their player and then download my OpenWFE ready-to-user image and try OpenWFE without the hassle of configuring it (though I work hard to reduce that cost).

sf.net‘s CVS is down again… Never let me down again…

Writing style : telegraphic
stop

Written by John Mettraux

April 11, 2006 at 8:10 pm

Posted in blahblah, openwfe

