processi

about processes and engines

gwebclient

OpenWFE gwebclient (0)I took some time to play with the Google Web Toolkit. And I ended up doing a asynchronous rewrite of OpenWFE’s aging webclient.

I’m having lots of fun !

Somehow, I’m having the impression I’m rewriting once again some OpenWFE connector library (like openwfe-ruby or openwfe-python for example). But this time, the target is [a subset of] Java. It’s not a bad thing though, in four years, my skills improved, and the gwebclient is benefitting from that as well; simpler, cleaner code.

The final result should be double : an RPC toolkit à la Google and an assorted webclient. Java developers will be able to build their own GWT stuff on top of the “OpenWFE RPC toolkit” (yet another piece in the puzzle…) by following the example of the new “gwebclient” stuff.

There’s one thing perhaps, that I’m not happy with. There is certainly out there an ajax open source toolkit that should be very decent (Wicket perhaps ?) and that’s not coming from a company like Google (which is putting restrictions on the distribution of the development tools that come with its GWT), some independent toolkit with great ideas, and the GWT is certainly taking away lots of spotlight from it.

I’m looking forward writing an async version of DroFlo ! (but not immediately, and that’s another story)

Written by John Mettraux

June 5, 2006 at 6:52 pm

Posted in java, openwfe, oss

