processi

about processes and engines

I want a book

I want a book, just a unique book.

There are less things around me. You may call that zen.
There are enough infrastructure and services to allow me the nomadic life I always dreamt of.

As I travel, and these days, I do it a lot by train, my iPod is with me, and in it, there is all my music.

I want the same for all the books I love. I want it to look like a book (like the iPod somehow look like a walkman) but I want it to contain all my books. With the annotations, with the comments my friends wrote in them when they offered them to me.

If I could write in it, if the left page could be page x of cien años de soledad and the right page, some notes I’m taking (this blog I’m writing, posted on sync), that’d be perfect. I would zap away the notes to browse for a spanish word I didn’t understand, dictionary.
I could hyperlink books together (I could explicitely do it, authors did it, openly or in a hidden way, I would just discover and tag such links).

It would be the diamond age. I can’t remember if Nell could write in her book though.

Such a book, would just be an interface to a mix of personal data (annotations, links, …) and communal data.

Written by John Mettraux

June 17, 2006 at 2:14 pm

Posted in blahblah, books

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It sounds wonderful and I understand such a library in the pocket is planned. But it needs vastly more memory than presently can be put on a pocketable device. The new thing to me is your mention of annotations scribbled in the margin by yourself and your friends. I had never thought of that. It seems obvious, now that you have said it, that the device must have such a facility or be bleak and banal indeed to the reader/user.

    cyquick.wordpress.com

    Cy

    June 17, 2006 at 4:16 pm

  2. Hi Cyrus,

    thanks for your comment. Indeed memory is currently a problem.

    A scenario : the sheets are LCD like, the memory is the state, but to change the book, you have to connect it to ‘upload’ new content to it (no room for a classical harddrive).
    Annotations seem not possible in that scenario.

    Another scenario : the eBook, one page at a time (no sheets), annotations are possible, but it’s only a tablet pc, it’s not a book.

    Patience, it will come.

    OK, I have to leave now : there are plenty interesting posts on your blog that I have to read ;-)

    jmettraux

    June 17, 2006 at 4:33 pm

  3. Thankyou for your response here, and thankyou for the kind remark on my blog! Cheers, Cy

    Cy Quick

    June 17, 2006 at 11:06 pm


Comments are closed.

