processi

about processes and engines

Le peuple des connecteurs

I just finished that book. I know, it’s in french. I don’t think it’s been translated, but it would deserve it.

The title says (excuse my sloppy translation skills) : “The people of the connecting-ones : they don’t vote, they don’t study, they don’t work… but they change the world”.

At first, I was a bit afraid, french people may have a strong culture, but it’s usually a “mono-culture”. They tend to be heavily french-centered.
But this book is just fine, it gives what it promises. It was a delight to read (especially after a long sequence of american books about BPM / workflow).

Instead of trying to summarize the book, I gathered a set of links to subjects that the book develops.

The author’s mention of Nick Bostrom simulation argument is especially challenging.

This book made me think about emergency in the terms of ’emerging business processes’. The idea might be enonciated like : “letting usable/efficient business processes emerge from a soup of simple business/office interactions”. Simple rules, stacked, leading to emerging complex behaviours.
OK, it’s late… I should stop tweaking my synapses on that. Speaking of neurons, that might go into that direction

A final sunday quote : “BPM/workflow is a philosophical approach to producing applications that allow people to work in a more coordinated manner” (Keith Swenson)

I’d like to confront the ideas of the book and that final quote which, IMHO, revolves around the words ‘coordinated’ and ‘people’.
The book somehow defines a “connecting-one” as someone practicing self-coordination with the other “connecting-ones”. The BPMS might be a platform for that. We could capture that coordination result into a business process (we could have said ‘discover’). The platform would be flexible enough to adapt to further changes in the coordination / connections.

disclaimer and meta : this is just a blog post, it may seem as a soup of half-baked ideas and it probably is, but that’s blog fun. I have a tag for that : “blahblah“.

Written by John Mettraux

June 25, 2006 at 9:59 pm

Posted in blahblah, books, bpm, workflow

