processi

about processes and engines

OpenWFE and other frameworks

This WordPress is a great piece of software. Stats are fun, I just wished it would provide an output à la AwStats.

On sunday, someone stumbled over the blog while looking for “OpenWFE and other frameworks”. I thought this ‘request’ deserved some kind of indirect answer. Maybe I should put a link from the FAQ to this post (WordPress is great : I really like to fill my blog with content, it just looks great, so I link to it without feeling guilty of decentralizing information at all).

Why the other word ? It’s true that OpenWFE uses its own little framework to let its services communicate among each other and thus form a workflow engine or a worklist.

But with OpenWFE ’embedded’ this little framework is hidden behind some POJOs and those POJOs may be used within your favourite framework (Spring ?).

OpenWFE comes in two flavours : standalone and embedded, but this is just packaging. It’s not monolothic at all. OpenWFE’s own framework is not a constraint (except if you lack innovation and skill).

Written by John Mettraux

July 18, 2006 at 10:24 am

Posted in java, openwfe

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know anything about OpenWFE and I think that goes for most BPMS Watch readers as well. Why don’t you post a comment back on BPMS Watch that talks a bit more about it and directs readers to more information?
    –Bruce

    Bruce Silver

    July 20, 2006 at 2:50 pm


Comments are closed.

