processi

about processes and engines

community flame

I’m subscribed to a certain number of open source projects mailing lists.

One of those sported a discussion where a user expressed his discontentment with the project being too much ‘commercial open source’. A project with only two full time developers and no VC backup isn’t worth such fire, wrong target.

The ‘user’ complained about the ‘community’ versus ‘enterprise’ edition. There are lots of projects going that way these days, sometimes the enterprise edition spins off the community one. Since when do we have ‘community editions’ ? My first souvenir of it was sendmail.org versus sendmail.com, it isn’t that recent, but my impression is that the ‘community edition’ got refined into some ‘enterprise edition’ not the inverse, I don’t feel like googling sendmail’s history to assert my impression into a conviction.

(Notice how I/we use sendmail with a lowercase, it is/was ubiquitous, millions of mail messages got routes/dispatched by it, but I was glad to switch to Exim).

On the mailing thread, the user complains about the project ‘mocking users’ by providing some migration tools only in the enterprise edition. There’s got to be some added value in that enterprise edition, why not that ? That project is real open source, I would feel mocked if I had to register in any way to download and/or participate in the ‘community edition’ (some [commercial] open source projects do it).

The only acceptable ‘registration process’ is the process of registering to one of the mailing-lists of the open source project.

I don’t like the ‘community edition’ denomination, it’s the flag of the evolution towards the ‘commercial open source’ only. But maybe that’s just [blogo-]noise and I need to tune my filters.

Written by John Mettraux

August 16, 2006 at 8:23 pm

Posted in blahblah, opensource, oss

