processi

about processes and engines

1.7.2 status

I’m changing job, I’m leaving Switzerland tomorrow. My goal was to release 1.7.2 today, from Switzerland, but it won’t be possible.

I couldn’t manage to put my hands on a running win2000 system to test 1.7.2 on it. OpenWFE 1.7.1 has issues with running on win2k, but is fine with winXP. I’d love to fix that for 1.7.2. Windows 2000 is [still] very much deployed (there are workarounds, but I’d like to put my nose directly in the logs and fix the issue so that OpenWFE works out of the box for a maximum number of people).

Another cause of delay : the Atom1.0 workitem dispatchment code is here and it works fine but the listener for it should be finalized. OK, it’s not absolutely necessary, anyone with decent coding skills and an Atom1.0 parsing lib will be able to ‘consume’ workitems (subscribing to workflow events in a breeze).
And of course, I have to write the documentation for that, and a couple of blog posts about it.
I’m looking forward connecting business process engines by ‘subscription’.

I’d also like to adapt the decision tables to CSV as generated by Excel, in the wild : the current implementation is based on output generated with OpenOffice, which puts double-quotes around any text, whereas Excel (at least on MacOSX) uses double-quotes only when some characters have to be escaped.

That’ll certainly make for a September release.

I’ve just released OpenWFE 1.7.2pre6.

Written by John Mettraux

August 24, 2006 at 10:59 am

Posted in openwfe

