processi

about processes and engines

limited

I don’t like my work to be qualified as “limited“. It occurred twice in the past two weeks and there were some variants.

Shallow judgement.

Most of the questions on open source projects’ forums are about people trying to save time by asking directly instead of reading (and understanding to a certain point) the documentation.
A new generation emerged : those that qualify a project or aspects of a project as ‘limited’ if it doesn’t fit their mindset.

Maybe it’s related to the rise of the commercial open source, the shift from the users of an open source project to consumers of a commercial open source project. Bye innocent ‘newbie’, welcome despised ‘consubie’.

Dark ages ahead. Please put an ‘open source consultant’ between these people and my forums.

Of course, I exaggerate, but it’s “Navidad” and I feel like asking for my share of respect.

[long] P.S.

it’s OK to a certain extent to ask questions without reading too much of the documentation, having to reply to them gives hints about what is not well understood, and the replies themselves increase the amount of ‘searchable online information’.
I have to say though, that each time I’ve said : “hey if you don’t understand the documentation, feel free to ask any question”, I sincerely thought : “that could help me enhance the doc” but it was understood as : “documentation is crappy and any question you might ask will be a proof of this crappiness”.

Further exaggeration.

Written by John Mettraux

December 22, 2006 at 8:18 am

Posted in blahblah, opensource

