processi

about processes and engines

jruby and more

I was busy playing with JRuby, no time to post.

At first, I’m interested in running OpenWFEru on top of it. But what kept me really busy was using WEBrick’s WebDAVHandler on top of it. And it works fine. WEBrick is a pleasure to work (hack) with.

Beforehand, I was supposed to use Slide, but the project, although robust and well thought, is a bit asleep and the [in-depth] documentation is limited to the mailing list. I also hit a dead while trying to have some flexibility in the authentication. The JRuby + WEBrick combo proof of concept took me 30 minutes to set up.

The only showstopper was the inadequate pom.xml shipping with JRuby 0.9.9, the JRuby guys already fixed it. So getting and using JRuby 1.0.0 via Maven2 will be a breeze.

JRuby is great stuff, it ties duty (Java) with pleasure (Ruby). Maybe one day I’ll be lucky enough not to have to start a JVM anymore.

Thanks to Sun and ThoughtWorks for hiring the JRuby guys !

Written by John Mettraux

May 7, 2007 at 6:24 am

Posted in jruby, ruby

