processi

about processes and engines

code rythm

I won’t give any example, I don’t have the time.

I hate when people don’t put a whitespace after a comma in their code (or in whichever of their prose), it breaks a typographic rule, it makes their work difficult to read.

Similarly I don’t like when people don’t add extra blank lines to their code. Prose that isn’t split in paragraphs is hard to read, it’s the same for code.
Bits of silence are important in music pieces, there are bits of silence around notes, around musical phrases. Rythm.

A majority of the smart guys I came across until now were equally good/excellent at maths and music. I’m not among them.

It’s a pain to read code slapped together without a single breath / blank line. It’s usually perpetrated with an IDE, encouraged by auto-completion and an opening on some hyphothetical refactoring. Auto-deception.

I prefer to work with my plain text editor, line by line, like a poet, verse by verse. But I’m no poet nor am I a musician.
Beautiful muses are demanding.

Written by John Mettraux

October 1, 2007 at 1:16 pm

Posted in blahblah, coding

