processi

about processes and engines

web 2.0 and status

Today, I spent some time at the Tokyo Web 2.0 expo. I had the opportunity to shake hands with Hakon Wium Lie, the CTO of Opera and Tim O’Reilly.

The Opera guys had two OLPCs on their stand, they looked beautiful. I couldn’t get the O’Reilly booth guy to sell me his “Resftful Web Services” t-shirt unfortunately.

The best spot for free wifi was the Microsoft lounge (thanks for the coffee !), I jockeyed my macbook… My Debian laptop would have earned me some karma points.

I was quite surprised not to come across any booth yielding the Rails or Ruby standards. Some salarymen were mumbling those names, but no visible presence, except among the O’Reilly books.

This week-end is dedicated to sports, so I won’t progress much on OpenWFEru, my open source Ruby workflow and bpm engine. Next week, I will release version 0.9.16. This new version contains lots of improvements, as the changelog attests.

I’m quite happy with the BlogParticipant, a specialization of the new AtomPubParticipant, I can use phrase like “you can have business processes that blog”, “read the activity trace of your business processes as a blog” or “publication workflow for blog entries / content repositories” when pitching OpenWFEru to the salesguys around me.

OK, time for me to forget about computers and buzzwords.

Written by John Mettraux

November 16, 2007 at 2:49 pm

Posted in atompub, bpm, cms, openwferu

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] some other reports from Web 2.0 Expo Tokyo by Rob Cawte (1, 2), Daniel Goldman (1), John Mettraux (1), Yuki Naotori (1), Robert Sanzalone (1, 2), Serkan (1), Nasir Sobri (1, 2) and the rest of the IDD […]


Comments are closed.

