processi

about processes and engines

ruote 0.9.18 released

OpenWFEru (Ruote) is an open source workflow and BPM engine written in Ruby. I just released version 0.9.18.

Why “Ruote” ? “OpenWFEru” is long to spell… The initial nickname was “Rufus”, but as I reused it for the subprojects not related to BPM, I needed another one. Tomaso suggested me “Ruote” and it sounded just right.

“Ruote” means “wheels” in italian, but it has migrated to english as well. Leopard’s dictionary says :

ruote |roōˈōtē|
noun
pasta that resembles small wheels with five spokes radiating from a hub.
ORIGIN Italian, literally ‘wheels’ .

And it’s OK to have a pasta as the nickname of a project that now allows to script spaghetti business processes thanks to the new step expression.

The complete release announcement as addressed to the users mailing list.

OK, back to work, I’d like to improve ruote-rest, I guess I’ll have to improve (finish) the example first before feeling restful.

homedemodownloadsourcequickstartissuesfeedback

Written by John Mettraux

May 22, 2008 at 5:33 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Tomaso !

    John Mettraux

    May 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm


Comments are closed.

