processi

about processes and engines

lunch with Keith Swenson

Last week, I had the privilege of having lunch with Keith Swenson. I have to admit I’m a fan of his “Go Flow” blog.

Keith Swenson is a fellow of the Workflow Management Coalition and he works for the R&D of Fujitsu Computers Systems. He has more than 15 years of experience in the workflow and business process management fields.

We talked about XPDL, federated workflows, RESTful BPM, WfXML-R and he gave me some explanations about the new Fujitsu process discovery service (I’d love to work on such a tool).

This meeting could have happened a bit earlier as we realized that our offices are just 4 blocks away from each other.

Keith gladly accepted to give a speech soon at a BPMinna meeting (Wakizaka-san, we have to talk about that).

This lunch was very instructive as well as friendly, I just forgot to ask for his business card, well, next time.

Written by John Mettraux

August 2, 2008 at 2:48 pm

Posted in bpm, rest, workflow, xpdl

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks John, I still think Yokohama has the best sushi in the world. It was a great pleasure to meet you.

    Our conversation reminds me that the open source field is often very much like the standards world: there is the impression from the outside that there are many things happening with a huge conference of people, but actuality it is a labor of love of a very few people. Keep the faith on the open source workflow engine; we need some good (a.k.a. non-BPEL) engines out there for people to experiment with.

    Keith Swenson

    September 18, 2008 at 4:06 am

  2. Thanks Keith, very kind of you.
    As long as I’m having fun and I’m learning I will go on.
    Best regards !

    John Mettraux

    September 18, 2008 at 11:48 pm


Comments are closed.

