processi

about processes and engines

Ruote presentation at Stockholm University

I was invited to talk about Ruote at the Information Labs of the Stockholm University (syslab).

My presentation covered the general concepts of Ruote (OpenWFEru) over a few slides. As always, it’s difficult to select the subjects for a rather unknown target audience.

(This time, I was happy to notice that only one person fell asleep. Well, after reflection, I think it was mostly due to the fact it was a lunch presentation, people were eating)

Many thanks to Petia and to the Professor Johannesson for inviting me.

Here are the videos, the sound quality is mostly okay. Unfortunately, the last part of the questions at the end couldn’t get taped.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "Ruote presentation at Stockholm Unive…", posted with vodpod

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "Ruote presentation at Stockholm Unive…", posted with vodpod

(Some parts of my speech are massively boring, I’ll do better next time)

The conversation that followed the meeting was extremely interesting, I was asked about integration of decision tables into business processes (as decision services via a CsvParticipant) : “too bad you didn’t include that in your presentation”. Decision tables provide very effective decision services, the next step is working with [Ruby] rule engines.

Petia answered some of my questions about YAWL, especially about their “worklet” technique and their rule system for selecting those workflow snippets.

It was good to be back in a research environment for a few hours, the people and the atmosphere were great. I wish I had more time in Stockholm to inquire about the research interests of all the persons I met there. So many things to learn.

(Of course, I wish I had more time as well to explore the islands of Stockholm, this city in its autumn dress was gorgeous. Maybe some other day, in Spring)

Many thanks again !

the presentation
the videos

Written by John Mettraux

October 15, 2008 at 7:06 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Félicitations !

    Germaine

    November 14, 2008 at 10:58 am

  2. […] At DSV, John gave a presentation on OpenWFEru (also called Ruote). The slides from the presentation are available here. The vidio from the presentation is available here. […]


Comments are closed.

